the birth

Look I wrote a Christmas song!

I was pretty intrigued about this quote in Christ the Center, “in Christ the divine Logos enters the human logos; that is the humiliation of Jesus Christ” (Bonheoffer 49). This song is an attempt at trying to articulate some of the concepts regarding that.

The second stanza is from a lecture in which my prof. pointed out the Christ is result of a process of intensification in the relationship between God and humanity. It moves from God identifying with and dwelling within a people, to identifying and “dwelling” within a person (Mary), to the Incarnation itself.

While writing this song, I started to get the idea that I could do this as my practicum project. After all I had already written two songs. The only difficulty is finding time and space to write it. Z is such a huge fan of the guitar that every time I pull it out he wants a turn.

Oh complete side note- after I wrote it I realized that I “borrowed” a lot of its sound and structure from Vigilantes of Love’s songs “Blister Soul” and Five Miles Outside of Monroe.”

Click the link to download the song (I have to pay to embed the song on the site!): the birth

 

UPDATE: oops, looks like a up the wrong link. Hopefully, that’s fixed now!

 

the birth

Press into this

Press into this

Break into flesh

Break into this

Humiliation of a birth

The blood and sick and shit

Humiliation of the birth

Becoming human flesh

From people of promise

To woman of blessing

From person of blessing

To flesh incarnate

In and through

From without to with

In and through

living with us

Rejoice

Rejoice

Oh Immanuel

Rejoice

With us

With us

Oh rejoice

With us

humiliation

Your love

humiliation

Your love

Rejoice

Rejoice

Oh Immanuel

Rejoice
Leave a Reply

