what does it mean?

I began the blog last quarter as a project for my Practicum. In my Practicum, I had to show some sort of articulation of the content of my classes in the wider world. So I started the blog, which was a lot of fun. However, this quarter I decided to do something different. Because of the time involved in my new project, my blog posts have slowed down considerably. I’m still keeping the blog, but I have to admit it’s low on my list of priorities.

Ok , that’s the back story to my current project. I have been working on creating a series of songs based on the concept of hypostatic union, i.e. the union of God and man in Jesus Christ. I was able to complete four, though I have odds and ends of a few more that may be developed at some time.

Just to be clear, I am not a musician. I can kind of bang on the guitar a little, but that’s about it. So the songs,musically, are kind of like baby talk… mostly nouns and maybe a verb here or there when I am trying to drive a point home, but no adjectives or adverbs- just enough to get the point across.

I also don’t know anything about recording. I don’t know how to develop and balance the tones or work all the knobs and stuff. I can’t even set my car stereo’s eq. I use the presets.  Despite all that, I did record the songs and will post one here every day or so.

The first one is called “What does it mean?” I wrote this song, when I was still trying to figure out what to do with the practicum, early on in the quarter. I figured out that no matter what I did, I could use it on something. The main line of the song “What does it mean that God put on human skin” is actually a quote from my professor on the first day of my Christology course. It kind of formally introduced the whole concept of hypostatic union to me. Though I knew/know that Jesus is God in flesh, the idea that when Jesus was walking around eating, sleeping, being born, etc. that it was God that was doing all those things is pretty challenging and of course begs the question, “Why did he do it like that?”

The first stanza was written in the first week of class. The second and third stanzas came later. The line “flesh, blood, bile, and bone that have been tainted with sin” comes from Irenaeus’s Against the Heresies, though I think I missed the nuance of his statement. Basically he was making the argument that in Christ, God took on the likeness of “sinful flesh” to redeem it. I think my line makes it sound like his flesh was sinful, which of course it wasn’t.

In the third stanza I included an idea from Bonhoeffer’s Christ the Center. Basically the idea is that actually Incarnation, the birth itself, is the humiliation of God.  It’s an idea I return to over and over again in these songs.

Hmmm… it looks like I can’t just post the song here. So here is a link where you can download it if you are interested:  What does it mean

What does it mean?

What does it mean that God put on human skin

Lived and breathed and moved around this world we’re in

What does it mean to put on skin

Eat and speak, dream and live

What does it mean for everything

Creator and creation intermingling

What does it mean that God put on human skin

What does it mean that God put on human skin

Flesh, blood, bile and bone that have been tainted with sin

What does it mean to put on skin

In the broken world that we live

How does it change everything

Creator and creation intermingling

What does it mean that God put on human skin

What does it mean that God put on human skin

Humiliation and limitation, in this world we’re in

What does it mean to put on skin

To be born a babe when they want a king

What does it mean for everything

Creator and creation intermingling

What does it mean that God put on human skin

Leave a Reply

