the worst in me

Last month, I read Bonhoeffer’s Creation and Fall. It is basically his Christological (Christ-centered) interpretation of the first four chapters of Genesis. When discussing the Tree of Knowledge and the Tree of Life he makes an interesting point. Those two trees are at the center of the Garden. Humans’ limit is not found on the edges of the garden but at its heart.  Similarly, life is at the center of the garden. Those two ideas the limit and center are the core of the book.

Basically, this song is my reflection of that idea. It’s still musically and lyrically a little flat, but I’m working on it. The last verse is from the final pages of the Creation and Fall: “What a strange paradise is this hill of Golgotha, this cross, this blood, this broken body. What a strange tree of life, this trunk on which the very God had to suffer and die” (146).

P. S. I love Genesis. It is a book that I return to over and over again. I’ve also been reading through SPU’s Center for Biblical and Theological Education Lectio readings of Genesis. Do yourself a favor and sign up for this fabulous resource.

The Worst in Me
In my heart there grows two trees

And the worst gets the best of me

until I have to leave

I carry the worst in me

I carry the worst in me

 

East of paradise I plant my fields

Harvest the curse, and the fruit it yields

To leave in anger, shame, and fear

I carry the worst in me

I carry the worst in me

 

At my best I plant a vine

And I drink deep from the fruit I find

To stumble naked, drunk, and blind

I carry the worst in me

I carry the worst in me

 

In my heart there grows two trees

And one stretches into eternity

Offering its bloody fruit for me

despite the worst in me

despite the worst in me

2 responses to “the worst in me

Leave a Reply

